Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Recognizing my own obsession

Fred_C

I spend a great deal of time thinking about the acquisition of a high end instrument. The latest object of my desire is a Collings I-35 Deluxe which would set me back over $6K. I spend so much time thinking about it that it is beginning to resemble obsessive behavior.

This weekend, I decided to proactively confront my obsession head-on. I took out my Ibanez AF-125 and Peerless Monarch 16 hollow bodies and placed them on stands. I studied them both scrupulously, comparing them feature for feature. I then plugged them into my Ampeg GFT15-112 amp, set to the 7.5 watt Triode setting. The Ampeg is IMO a very quality quality amp which will perform with some very highly respected amplifiers.

Then, I played some of the most technically challenging music I know through both guitars, paying close attention to tone and playability. They both played and sounded absolutely stellar. Great Tone and impressive Playability. I should probably mention that my Epi Sheraton is not feeling well and needs some repair work. I can see a pickup upgrade in the future (I am considering the Lollar Imperial, Duncan Jazz, or Benedetto B-6).

Due to ill health, the Sheraton was not included in the exercise.

The end result is that I think I am well on the way to recovery from my obsession and didn't even need to go away to Rehab.

If you play cool, you are cool.

• Replies 71
  • Created
  • Last Reply

So....

Did you determine whether or not it was the PRICE that made the Collings a "high end" instrument?

Or, was it that IT'S "playability" exceeded either one of the guitars you already had?

Since it seems you discovered it DIDN'T, I'm still left wondering why it's the COLLINGS you consider to be a "high end" guitar?

Just askin'.......(Hope your Sheraton gets better...)

Whitefang

I started out with NOTHING...and I still have most of it left!