Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Yamaha CP4 and classical music?

Kevin Keys777

The CP4 sounds great playing jazz.

Does anyone have any experience performing classical music on the Yamaha Cp4?

Would you recommend it to a pianist who performs jazz and classical?

Yamaha CP4 (Gigs) Kawai MP7 (home), Yamaha CP33(gigs), Yamaha P80(retired), 3 QSC K10's, Zed 10FX mixer, Sennheiser HD598, Bachendorff 45" acoustic

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

As a classically-trained pianist, I'd say the CP4 does better than many digitals as a performing tool for the genre. Which is to say... not brilliantly.

However, it all depends what the alternatives are, and your level of playing. If you don't exactly aspire to conservatoire level, or the alternative is a really crap upright, then it may be a viable choice. But no serious pianist is going to prefer it over, say, one of the same company's own acoustic grands.

Yamaha: P515, CP88, Genos 1, HX1

Thanks Aidan.

I'm a somewhat serious player (degree in music)

I'd be using the digital for classical music at wedding ceremonies where there would be no acoustic instrument available.

I would be performing typical rep you would hear at a wedding, Canon in D, Chopin nocturnes, etc.

I would also be practicing on it late at night.

Would you recommend it over say, the Kawai Mp6 or 7, for classical music?

Is there a setting you found that works best for classical?

I'm looking for a mellow classical sound.

Yamaha CP4 (Gigs) Kawai MP7 (home), Yamaha CP33(gigs), Yamaha P80(retired), 3 QSC K10's, Zed 10FX mixer, Sennheiser HD598, Bachendorff 45" acoustic

I have a lot of experience in this area. By the way, you might change the title of this thread to "CP4 for wedding ceremonies " ...