Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Hello from a new member

PinkFloydDudi

Searched the rules and didn't see whether introduction threads were encouraged or not, so figured if not, could always delete it!

Name is Brian and I am the keyboard player, manager, booking agent, and all that other business stuff for a Dave Matthews Tribute Band out of Rochester, NY.

In browsing the forum, I see there are at least 2 members who are from the area with 1 in a band whose name I recognize (Soul On Tap).

By day, I am a manager at Xerox in the IT world and like many I'm sure, my weekend-warrior hobby is a musician. Grew up classically trained but after getting sick of not being able to play what I wanted, quit by age 12. Took up guitar on my own at age 14, and by age 16, realized I was just no good at it.

Skip down a few years and after college I was playing some video games and came to a point where I needed a new hobby. Found my first "real" keyboard on craigslist, 2 days later answered a band ad looking for keyboards, and 6 years later here I am.

For a long time my main board was a Korg Triton ProX, which I loved. I very much enjoy playing many different manufacturers however as you will see with my equipment list, I do have a preference towards Korg!

Loved the Triton, and I picked up a Korg CX3 a few years ago. After a festival gig on a sandy beach, the CX3 started booting up with an error so it is currently sitting in my basement waiting for a repair someday.

Well then a few months ago, I picked up the Korg Kronos. If they weren't all on the same power switch, my Triton wouldn't even be turned on since I got it. I love the Kronos to say the least. (73 key weighted).

I have your typical "home studio" in my basement with a nice multi-tier stand for all my keyboards. My Kronos is my 1 and only main board at this point for gigging.