Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Going to NAMM and I'm a bit nervous

Rusty Mike

Hi all. I'm going to NAMM for the first time since 1986! My friend Glen Stewart convinced me to go, and I'm expecting news about my ticket in the next few days. Exciting to say the least.

Here's why I'm nervous. I haven't played professionally in close to 20 years, and am really only a semi-serious hobbiest at this point. Glen hangs out with some heavy duty players and he is already pressuring me about playing. I'm not really concered about playing ability, as I play to my skill level and just say I'm a minimalist :crazy:.

My anxiety is really about something much more mundane. I'm not good at memorizing songs. I have literally a handful of songs in my head, but really need to rely on chord charts to play nearly anything.

For example, I've been playing "I Can't Get Started" since I was about 15, and still forget the chords to the bridge. It's a problem I've always had. I know there was a thread here a bit back that talked about having music on stage. I have always had a book with me, even when I was playing professionally.

For NAMM, I'm thinking about writing up some cheat sheets for my iPad, or possibly writing up index cards for my back pocket. My concern is about how dorky it's going to look pulling out cards everytime I sit down to play a keyboard. And I hope to play a lot of keyboards!

Any advice? Am I setting myself up for ridicule?

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

My advice about NAMM would be to just have fun. Who cares if you blow the bridge to something? Just dig checking out the gear!