Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Roland FP-7F tones - most good, some bad. Help.

wcwiseman

I just bought a Roland FP-7F, and I am a total newbie with any keyboard.This thing has so many features it will take me years to figure out. However, I do know something about guitar, and the 'guitar tones' are very bad, not sounding like any guitar I ever heard, especially the Nylon, Clean and Jazz guitar sounds. Does anyone know how to fix this? I bought the FP-7F to learn piano, and I think I will be happy with its default grand piano sound - but since it has all these other tones and features, I want them to work correctly too. I sure would appreciate any help I can get. **UPDATE: I accidentally listed as a 'calendar event', so am removing it. I don't understand what a calendar event is, but not evidently appropriate. Thanks so much for the replies... I think I will console/resign myself to being happy with the great grand piano sounds - and perhaps in future I will find use of the other tones available. --- But is there any 'calibration' or 'test' technique to ensure I have the correct tones? I read somewhere a vague reference to calibration with an external CD, but it was not clear at all how to do this.

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply
I have the RD 300GX which, like most Rolands. has similar guitar tones. Granted, the tones by themselves aren't very convincing. However, I've found that the trick is developing a guitar-like playing technique rather than tweaking the sounds themselves. You're never going to convince anyone that it's a real guitar in an exposed solo piece, but in context with a band and played with the right technique it can be very convincing.
Instrumentation is meaningless - a song either stands on its own merit, or it requires bells and whistles to cover its lack of adequacy, much less quality. - kanker