Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Dumb Descriptions in Music

The Bear Jew

It's cool to get nice reviews on one's work, and I am certainly not immune to feeling a little puffed-up when I see that a writer went to the trouble of hooking up a good review of my music.

And, as a former music journalist, I am aware that certain musical styles are known to attract a specific set of adjectives from writers who specialize in those genres.

For example, alt-country acts are probably sick of hearing their music described as "achingly beautiful" or "tender and heartfelt." Similarly, many metal bands of different stripes have been described as "mercilessly brutal" and "molten and raw."

The problem with these descriptors is they really don't mean anything and are too often solely based on opinion that they fail to do anything for the reader. I mean, yes, I get it--some of this stuff will only apply to certain genres, so these terms act as simplified ways to say, "I think this recording is a really good representation of the band and its genre. If you like this kind of stuff, you will totally dig this recording." But that doesn't really describe the music. It just means you liked it.

And I can't help but get a little annoyed when reviews of my own music, especially when they're meant to be complimentary, make us sound like bad people.

I mean, my vocals have often been described as "whiskey-soaked" or "smoke-darkened." My music has been described as "drug-fueled" and "nihilistic." Great. I'm a drug addict/alcoholic who cares about nossink. Awesome. While you're at it, maybe you could describe me as someone who leaves the seat up, runs with scissors and doesn't finish his vegetables. My mom would be horrified.

Of course, who really wants to read about a metal band of guys who are family men, work out regularly and like to be in bed before 11pm on weeknights?