Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Your favorite combo bass amp (for them that roll that way)?

Groove Mama

I'm not in the market...yet...but would someday like to trade up in the amp department. Since I am a hobbyist, a combo amp seems the best fit for me.

Any suggestions?

Queen of the Quarter Note

"Think like a drummer, not like a singer, and play much less." -- Michele C.

• Replies 88
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I had a 100 watt Hartke Kickback 12 that was really a great amp. It kept up okay with several different drummers, was a reasonable weight, very compact and easy to haul around, sounded wonderful to my ear, and had a good XLR out if I ever needed to use it. It was also a very "containable" amp, by which I mean I could hear it well and it sounded rich & full, but the low-end didn't bloom out into the room & make life hard for the sound man. It's the perfect bass amp for a church worship team of just about any size.

If you aren't going to play out with it, or just do smaller acoustic band gigs, you could probably get by with a Kickback 10, the same head with a 10" speaker. But, if I was going to suggest a combo amp for playing live, I'd kick it up a notch and get the Kickback 15. I always said if I ever needed a loud live rig for bigger gigs, I'd have two Kickback 15s, and run 'em with some sort of stereo output pedal. If I could afford the cash outlay, I'd buy that setup right now.

Always remember that you are unique. Just like everyone else.

Look into those GK ultralight combo amps. I tried one at the local GC and it sounded really nice and was extremely light! The price isn't bad either.

This. See my gear thread. It is fantastic and I can carry with one arm.....blew away the Markbass 2x10 combo by a longshot...plus you can plug in your headphones and ipod (or whatever..I use my computer) and can practice quietly if need be.