Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Best cheap(-ish) mike for a light female voice.

The Geoff

Looking at a possible venture with the female vocalist from my previous band.

She doesn't have a really strong voice, but has a decent range.

What's a suitable & sympathetic microphone?

I'd heard that the Sennheiser E845S - E855S were like that, but there are mixed reviews on the net.

I have no experience in this area, so those of you who have, I'd be much obliged for the benefit of your experience. :D

G.

"When the power of love overcomes the love of power the World will know Peace": Jimi Hendrix

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=738517&content=music

The Geoff - blame Caevan!!!

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

My favorite affordable stage vocal mic is the Beyer M-88. You have seen it on videos with Elton John, Phil Collins, David Bowie, CSN, Pat Benatar and many many others. Great gain before feedback, too.

In terms of a great stage vocal mic, if you can find one, the Neumann KM-150... but at $1500, they are pretty dear. That is what is currently favored by Springsteen, Dylan, Tom Petty (the mic was developed or adopted by his engineer, to try to get him away from the Shure 57, which I also like a lot for vocals, but you have to stay on axis...) and CSN, to replace the Beyer.) The 105 is close, (no cigar...) at $500.

There was a time when one of the members of CSN was working with a cheaper Audix, but I forget the model number. OM-5?

There is also a Sennhieser that was the favorite among the jazz crowd for a while, Manhattan Transfer, Sammy Davis, a bunch of chick singers, and many of the crooners... the MD 431.