Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

OK....Pleez Don't BASH....but.....best 88 key Rompler..?

surreal mccoy

I used to post here quite a bit back a few years ago...and although I still play keys professionally, I went into other directions (personally)...(I did have the pleasure of meeting Dave Bryce at NAMM in hall E a few years back).

I'm currently using a Roland RD-700 and B4/ laptop via a 61 note Oxygen controller in a Praise & Worship band. We're looking to upgrade the Roland for better Pianos, Strings, Horns, Synths etc.

What are the best sound options?

Roland RD-700GX, Yamaha S90ES, Kurzweil PC3....Clavia..?

I'm a Jazz pianist that's been out of the loop from the digital key world for awhile.......PLEEZ HELP...?

I'm going to NAMM next week........so I'd like to check out the top/ best contenders..

THANX........

PS......should I look into more soft synth options..? (East/West)?

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The RD700GX is a fine piano (I have one myself) but from what I gather the other voices aren't really much better than its predecessor, the SX. I've never played the S90ES but it has quite a few fans here. I do have a Motif XS - in my case the 76 unweighted variant - which does pretty much all of the above very well. The Roland Phantom X8 is the comparable model from that range. Forget Clavia - won't give you horns and strings you require. Kurz PC3X also has many fans here but again I've not had the opportunity to try one.

I'd say it was between the Kurz and either S90ES or Motif XS8, myself.

Studio: Yamaha P515 | Yamaha Tyros 5 | Yamaha HX1 | Moog Sub 37

Road: Yamaha YC88 | Nord Electro 5D

The crew from Kurzweil R&D will be there on the second floor. Check out the PC3 series and talk with the guys who are still making changes to the software (working on one now to make the Leslie emulation sound better on hi speed)

Howard Grand|Hamm SK1-73|Kurz PC2|PC2X|PC3|PC3X|PC361; QSC K10's