Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Active pickups question regarding battery

Uncle Moe

Hi all,

I am new to active pickups and I have a question regarding the battery usage... I was wondering since there is not an off and on switch on the pickups, does that mean it is constantly draining the battery or does it just drain the battery when your playing?

I would assume it just drains when your playing but I just wanted to make sure.

Thanks in advance!

Schecter C-1 Classic & Hellraiser C-1 FR / Hagstrom Viking Deluxe / Epi. PR5-E (Acoustic/Elec) / Les Paul Ultra II / Ibanez Prestige RG1570 / Kramer Striker

Amps:eVh 5150 III

Effects:Boss Gt-10

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Guitarzan,

Thanks for responding, I should have noted that this is on a Schecter Hellraiser C-1 with the active EMG's.

They do not supply an owners manual, etc. so I did in addition to posting the msg here I emailed them too.

Schecter C-1 Classic & Hellraiser C-1 FR / Hagstrom Viking Deluxe / Epi. PR5-E (Acoustic/Elec) / Les Paul Ultra II / Ibanez Prestige RG1570 / Kramer Striker

I would have to agree. I play two active Schecter basses and as long as you remember to unplug the cord, you're fine. The batteries should last a good year or so with a fair amount of playing. But then again, the active systems in my basses are 18v, not sure if the guitars are 18v or 9v (or something else).

[Carvin] XB76WF - All Walnut 6-string fretless

[schecter] Stiletto Studio 5 Fretless | Stiletto Elite 5

[Ampeg] SVT3-Pro | SVT-410HLF

Great thanks!

My guitar takes a single 9v which runs both pickups... speaking of, I need to take out the cheap battery it came with I am always afraid of the cheapies leaking, etc!

The EMGs use a stereo jack on the output of the guitar, so that when you slide in the 1/4" mono plug, it shorts the sleve to the ring, connecting the battery and enabling the pickups. Unplug the 1/4" plug, the circuit is broken.