Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Guitar wiring scheme

New to the forum- Hi! I don't care for the standard strat wiring, I have no need for the tone controls as I am a recording guitarist these days and if I need tone control I have banks of parametric EQ. I'm not really that sharp at electrical wiring schemes but I had a thought and here's what I came up with: Each pickup has it's own volume control- three pickups- three knobs. The volume pots are push/pull - I've got them wired to different legs of a stereo jack depending on the position of the push/pull switch. So if a pickup's volume control is "pushed" it would go to the "ring" and if it's pulled it goes to the "tip". This way, say the neck pickup, could be sent to the left channel with a smidgen of middle pickup while the bridge pickup dominates the right channel. So by adjusting the volumes of the idividual pickups I can build a stereo mix from the guitar. It seemed like a perfect plan! I could, more or less, mix my sound then send signals to the actual mixer for processing and hopeful a "3d" sound. Here's the rub- it's quirky! Why is that! LOL! When one pot is shut off the others shut off, too. Only by "cracking" the pot open a bit will the others come on. Then there is what I assume is some phasing problems when certain combinations are reached. I installed phase reversal switches but that just made it harder for me to tell what was going on. Also-there seems to be a lot of "dead roll" in the pot's travel- this may have to do with the taper- I don't know- but there's no difference between say "8" and "3" on the knob. I just get the impression that there is something going on in this scheme that I don't understand My question to you is this- is it possible to "passively" emulate a 2 channel stereo mixer using the guitar's volume pots only?? Wth stereo jack? Or would there have to be an active circuit in there somewhere? I would appreciate any thoughts on this. Thanks Da