Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Tuner Replacement: Thoughts, comments, endorsements

Shoes

I need to replace a set of machines and have been looking about for a few weeks. They're for the LP Custom (blackie) and I saw these Sperzels and immediately thought they'd look terrific.

%5Bimg%5Dhttp%3A//img.photobucket.com/albums/v258/pek63/Sperzel.jpg[/img]

I have no experience with these at all. 12:1 ratio std on all models (don't care for that much but could live with it)

It's a no screw install and most likely involves a drill job to open up the stem hole.

Anyway... what do you know about these or Sperzels in general. I have no experience with them at all and wondered if any of you guys have used them, trust them (trim-lock thing) Finish stability wrt:plating.

Feel free to toss out endorsements.

thanx

(I tried to search this because I know we've been here several times before but it couldn't go back far enough in time.)

I still think guitars are like shoes, but louder.

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Whenever confronted with the NEED for replacements, I go for Schallers. I haven't really needed to replace any machiness for quite a few years now.

Bill

"I believe that entertainment can aspire to be art, and can become art, but if you set out to make art you're an idiot."

Steve Martin

Show business: we're all here because we're not all there.

I have Sperzels on all of my guitars.

They're hearty and sturdy. I like the way they eliminate the need for extra string winding. I can change strings quickly, get in tune and get rolling with very little effort.