Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Ion vs. Micron for a beginner?

bc002k

I have a bit of a dilemma. I ordered an Ion from Guitar Center almost 2 months ago, not realizing it was on back order. Sweetwater says it'll be Autumn of 2007, other sites pulled it completely. So I decided to go for a Micron instead, since it apparently has the same sound engine and capabilities (just less keys and interface).

Though apparently, the sales person at Guitar Center claims he spoke to Alesis and they said it was going to come in Mid-May (this coming week). And they were out of Microns too - otherwise I probably would've walked home with one of those yesterday.

Saving $200 on the Micron isn't really an issue. If the Ion does come in next week, I'm leaning towards that since I've waited so long for it anyway. But I'm also a complete beginner at synthesis (I've played piano for 4 years, so I'm somewhat proficient at that..no knowledge of synthesizers though). Is the Ion easier to use since it has the larger interface? Or is the Micron just as easy, since I don't really know (yet) what any of those knobs do anyway? And I've read some reviews saying the Micron actually sounds better..and it has a sequencer (which I'm also not too familiar with).

If the Ion really is delayed to Autumn 07, this is all a moot point since I'm just gonna say screw it and buy the Micron. But if my Ion does come in next week, I need to decide. Above all, I'm sick of waiting.

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The Ion will be significantly easier (for sound creation) for a complete synthesis neophyte; layers of menus (on the Micron) merely complicate the simplicity of analog synthesis (which is what the Ion and Micron both emulate).

The Micron adds some extra features which are nice; if you're merely looking at learning how subtractive synthesis works in a hands-on fashion, you might want to look at the Roland SH-201.