Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

What compression ratio does everyone use?

dohhhhh6

Hello, I just got a Boss GT-6b so I'm fiddling with the compressor (which I've never used before). I was just simply wondering, what ratios do you guys use on compressors for A) cleaning up your regular playing B) cleaning up your slap and C) getting a squishy sound.

I'm just wondering because most of the patches already on the board seem to have high ratio of 8-10:1 which seems a lot. Is there something I don't know?

In Skynyrd We Trust

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I currently use 1:1 ;) (that would be no compression). I agree with Alex, more than about 3:1 (or maybe a little more) starts to sound a bit squishy.

Dave

Old bass players never die, they just buy lighter rigs.

- Tom Capasso, 11/9/2006

I dont know for sure what my ratio is because on my amp it doesn't give any indication to the numbers. However I set it very low, mainly its there just for any large spikes. I jsut kept switching between slap+pop, finger, and picking finding something that pulled the slap and pop down.

Jonathan

i use 9.3:1. well, i will when i buy that 1.8T golf i've had my eye on. of course, i don't know how the tuning chip changes that, but it'll be fast, regardless.

for bass, i prefer a lot more squish in the studio. i don't play with one live. it always feels like the bass is harder to hear.

robb.

The compressor in my Phil Jones Bass amps are set at 3:1; seems to do the job nicely- better than the one in my Carvin R1000 (which isn't bad, but just not... the same).

I wish I knew the ratios on my EH Black Finger compressor. Normally I have the compression knob at about 11:00; and the "normal" compression option selected. For certain fretless sounds, I'll select the "squash", and compression knob at about 2:00; I also increase the output gain for that setting. Don't know that this helped any, but it's what I do.