Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Feedback sought...

Luke73

Hi everybody,

I've enrolled in a Certificate IV in music performance at a local TAFE college this year - part time. The subjects I'm doing ATM are Theory 1A, Keyboard 1, and Band performance.

(Actually, the college is where I teach Computer Systems Engineering...pretty handy actually ;) )

I think it's probably something like what you guys call community college over there?

Anyway - the Band performance module is pretty much a Jazz group. We have Piano, Drums, Bass (me :D ), Saxophone, Clarinet, and Guitar.

It's my first time playing anything jazz really - and certainly my first shot at walking bass lines (outside my study that is).

We're doing 4 tunes at the moment - one of which is Autumn Leaves.

I've been given a chord chart, which is just chords and a melody. I figured it'd be handy, so I've learnt the melody and can play that fine.

What I need to do is come up with a walking bass line for this song.

The arrangement we're going to have is play through it a few times in a two-feel, with soloists taking solos, and then switch to a four-feel.

I'm pretty OK with playing a two-feel bass line on the fly without having to write it down. I'm just playing various roots, fifths 3rds, 7ths, 2nds from each chord throughout the progression. I think it sounds OK. In the two feel I have time to think about it a little.

But, when we play the four feel it hurts my brain! LOL It's just too fast for me to think ahead about which notes to play without my brain getting fried, and me getting lost.

...so - I figured, I'll write a bass line for the four-feel section, and read it. I'll check with our teacher, I hope it will be fine to do that.

Anyway - I've written a bass line, which leads me to the point.

I've supplied a link below to a PDF of my bass line.

Would some of you kind people mind having a look and telling me if you think it's OK?