Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Making the transition from bedroom to stage

JasonDW

My band is getting ready to start playing out this spring. We're a four-piece classic rock cover band with drummer, bass, a female lead singer / keyboard player, and me on guitar. I've been playing for about 15 years but this is going to be my first time making it out of a bedroom, basement, or atic and I'm trying to figure out what I'll need to do to upgrade my rig.

For practice / recording I play through two small tube combos, a fender blues junior (for lower gain stuff) and a mesa/boogie subway rocket (for higher gain). We'll be playing relatively small venues (bars), the bass player has a fairly high wattage dual-cab setup and the singer / keyboard player has a small PA system that's suitable for amplifying her but probably not much else. I'm trying to figure out what my amplification strategy should be:

1 - Get a head and 4x12 cab (like a marshall DSL50) or a larger combo (like a mesa lonestar 2x12) and don't worry about a PA

2 - Get a PA with enough power / inputs for the whole band and mic one of my small combos

3 - Some combination of the two (get a bigger amp and plan to run it through a PA)

I'm pretty sure option 3 will give the best sound but is also obviously the most expensive. I'm not sure what all the pros and cons of options 1 and 2 are and I'm particulary not sure how we would handle monitoring in each case. Can anyone offer some advice? I know a lot of you have serious professional setups and soundmen but this is going to be a pretty amateur operation and I don't want to spend a huge amount of money. I do want us to sound good and be able to hear ourselves clearly enough to play well.

Thanks in advance,

Jason

• Replies 44
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well Jason, most importantly.... Stuff a big old Baking Potato in yer pants.

Just make sure you put it in the FRONT...and not the back!! :P :grin: