Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Does Feedback "Hurt" Amps?

Kramer Ferrington III.

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Originally posted by Kramer Ferrington III.:

When I started playing electric, I used to love feedback and then I was told that it was bad for the speakers (or was it the amp?)

I've recently been wondering... is that true or is it just an old roadie's tale?

I don't know either...but theoretically maybe so. I mean, Feedback often is a much higher tone than guitars put out. High frequency is going to make the speaker work a lot harder, it would have to move in and out much quicker.

But I have read the worst thing for speakers in a guitar amp is overdrive/distortion, because it is like a square wave which means the "duty cycle" or the time it has to stay all the way out, or all the way back is more than it can handle. Yet, there are a good number of folks that play with distortion :)

But as I said in the beginning, I don't know. Would also like to hear an answer from someone that does.

====================================================

Check out my original music at

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/jacker

"In theory there is no difference between theory and practice,

but not in practice."

Don't know about the amp, but yeah, you can toast a speaker with uncontrolled runnaway feedback. Now, we're not talking about normal playing or player feedback like Ted Nugent or Hendrix, we're talking about something like leaning the guitar against the amp and leaving, allowing the feedback to build and build.

Bill

"I believe that entertainment can aspire to be art, and can become art, but if you set out to make art you're an idiot."

Steve Martin

Show business: we're all here because we're not all there.

Originally posted by Caputo:

Feedback is therapeutic. There's somehting about those tones which make me feel better, I wonder if those waves and frequenciees stimulate endorphins