Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Played My First Larivee Today

Warthog

I must say that I've been playing for about 14 years but I don't frequent guitar shops often. Today I stopped at my local shop and amongst all the nice Martins and Taylors I was ogling there was a Larivee hanging up there, so I took it down for a spin. I must say I was impressed at this sub $1000 acoustic. Very bright, full tone with a ton of sustain, and the neck was decidely more "acoustic" feeling than the small radius of the Taylor that I own. I will definitely keep my eyes open for more models in the future. I couldn't help but think that would be an awesome addition to any guitarists rig.

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

i am not suprised. there are great guitars being made by lots of manufacturers.

when we were in the city at a local studio i got to see a beautiful accoustic made by one of thier luthiers. apparently it was made on private time. from what i understood it is accepted practice at Larravee once a year for them to do that. the thing sounded sweet.

i am a fan.

Originally posted by Bluesape:

Yup, they're sweet. Hey, aren't you supposed to be trying out electrics that give some contrast to your T5? :D

Yeah, true, but my heart always lies with a good acoustic...nothing but fingers, wood, and strings...

Originally posted by Warthog:

...my heart always lies with a good acoustic...nothing but fingers, wood, and strings...

I'm witcha, 'Hog. Lately all I play are my Guild and Simon and Patrick dreadnaughts. A Larrivee is definitely on my radar screen - "It will be mine, oh yes, it will be mine".

The first time I played a few Larivees in a shop was years ago, they were their pricey, beautifully inlaid earlier models, and man, what a totally pro, grand-piano vibe they had! Everything about them gave the impression that they were a cut above most.

Ask yourself- What Would Ren and Stimpy Do?

~ Caevan James-Michael Miller-O'Shite ~