Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Tribute Bands

if you're good enough

to re-engineer someone else's song...why do you not have your own song?

I should probably be seeing a therapist but, something about glomming on to someone else's

material gives me the creeps.

Because I'm a guitarist, not a poet. I couldn't write a song if my life depended on it.

"We all steal. Steal, but don't copy".

- Ella Fitzgerald

"If you copy, that means you ain't got nothing to say".

- Billy Holiday

If you play cool, you are cool.

• Replies 105
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

In the movie "RAY" it was made clear that Ray Charles did start out being known by locals to be able to "sound like" this well known "star" or that, but he came to realize that HE wasn't being appreciated for who HE was, and then strived to find his own "voice". Which of course, meant in both singing AND playing.

Singer/actress Bernadette Peters once said she hated, in her early career, to be known(in some circles) as, "the next" this person or that. Saying, "Well, we already HAVE one of this or that person, so WHY in the hell do we need ANOTHER?"

I'd say that it might be better to shrug the idea of letting some musician be your influence, and instead let them be your inspiration. To me, it seems that would make it less likely for you to copy them too much. ;)

Whitefang

I started out with NOTHING...and I still have most of it left!

I don't know of any band I admire enough to want to try and play their stuff and only their stuff, note for note, every time I play out. I like to many artists too well to choose just one.

Besides, I am more interested in doing versions of songs I like MY way.

Just call me Frank Sinatra, I guess...

Always remember that you are unique. Just like everyone else.