Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

I'm on the verge of a breakthrough.......but I need your help.

aframe9999

I've been playing guitar for several years and have become a fairly proficient lead player. But I've always relied on the major and minor pentetonics.

---BORING---

Just recently I've started investigating modes. Everyone talks about them, so I figured that I better jump on the wagon. Now, I can see how using different modes over different progressions can add the different 'shades' to a lead.

Now, I completely understand modes, how they are constructed, how they relate to each other, and how to play them.

What I am struggling with is WHEN to play which mode. Are there any guidlines to follow? Do you figure out one mode to play over the entire progression, or do you change modes as the chord changes. I need to know for example, lydian vs ionian. or Dorian vs. aeolian. How do you know?

Once I get a grasp of the 'which mode to play when' delimma, I will become an entirely new player. I'm almost there, but I'll need some guidance. Everyone has the experience of reaching a plateau, not progressing, then finally breaking through to a new level. I'm right there and it's awesome!!

Thanks!

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Originally posted by aframe9999:

Once I get a grasp of the 'which mode to play when' delimma, I will become an entirely new player.

Know that you don't force a mode on music, that music is in a mode to begin with. Know that the mind, if raised in the western hemisphere, wants to hear things relative to a certain group of 7 notes. Figure out what I mean by that and modes will be easy.

------------------

New and Improved Music Soon: http://www.mp3.com/chipmcdonald

Guitar Lessons in Augusta Georgia: www.chipmcdonald.com

Eccentric blog: https://chipmcdonaldblog.blogspot.com/

/ "big ass windbag" - Bruce Swedien