Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Mags that went away, you wish were back

strat0124

Frets magazine was one of my favorites, and I miss it dearly. Another cool mag was Acoustic Guitar....don't know if it's still in publication. I also miss the "old" Recording magazine. It's abandoned it's roots and went totally digital. It's why I am a TapeOp devotee. All these mags have something in common, they USED to never talk down to it's readers, and offered insight to your heroes/God's on a mere mortal level. As a guitarist, I picked up plenty of performance and recording techniques from the early days of these mags when I was a musician in a self imposed exile.......amazing but true. These mags stripped the artists from the corporate mind-F@#$ and let us see inside....all the tools of the trade, little tricks for recording, etc. I have like two years of Frets that I will never ever throw away. I still enjoy them now and again, when I have time to actually sit down and read. Any thoughts?????
Down like a dollar comin up against a yen, doin pretty good for the shape I'm in

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Musician was a quarterly wasn't it? Yeah I liked some of the articles that touched on the personal gear, not the intricate details mind you, but like particular amps and stories behind them. I hate to have to navigate through all the tabs......it's like half the mag! I'd rather have content, good journalistic material worthy of the artist themselves. Oh well....wish in one hand and .............
Down like a dollar comin up against a yen, doin pretty good for the shape I'm in