Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

How to fix/replace a tuning pot?

davidb

Hello,

I believe that the tuning pot on my Roland RD300 needs to be replaced. When I hit a note, the note will hit the right pitch, but then after a second or so the pitch will fluctuate up to 6Hz, going up and down. Can anyone tell me if this is is something that I can do on my own? I have no experience fixing digital pianos. If so, can you give me instructions including where I can buy parts (if needed)? Any help is greatly greatly appreciated. Thanks!

-David

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Has it always done this or did it start recently?

Years ago I purchased a Roland piano type keyboard whose pitch would fluctuate if a key was pressed repeatedly. I brought it back to the dealer and he checked with Roland about it. He was told that it was a "design feature". The dealer exchanged that keyboard for another Roland instrument that still did it but had more features.

Good Luck

I've said it before, I'll say it again... if you have to ask about repairing your gear on your own, you probably shouldn't attempt it.

Take it in to a Roland authorized service center, get a quote, and decide on your options then.

If you have to ask about cleaning/replacing a pot, then you're only asking for trouble once you've got the unit open. Sorry if that sounds harsh, but that's how I'm calling it.

For some odd reason (perhaps the first weekend Jim Beam), I am reminded of a song I used to sing when I was a young hooligan in elementary school. :P I think it was called "There's a hole in the bucket" and the words were something like this. It was Liza and Henry exchanging verses. I was actually about 1/4 of my way into typing it from memory and it was taking a long time. I just did a Google search (Sven better give me props) and I found the song lyrics:

There's a hole in the bucket, dear Liza, dear Liza,

There's a hole in the bucket, dear Liza, a hole.