Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

you don't need no teacher...

delirium

Hey beginners out there, all you need is talent and will. If you dont have both no teacher will help, but if you do - teacher can mess you up.

If I read e.g. about Errol Garner earlier I wouldnt take lessons in my childhood (in fact I took whole school of lessons) and now I dont play like Errol :D

A self-taught pianist who never learned to read music, Erroll Garner was nevertheless one of the most popular jazz musicians of the 1950s.

Erroll Garner proved that it was possible to be a sophisticated player without knowing how to read music, that a creative jazz musician can be very popular without watering down his music, and that it is possible to remain an enthusiastic player without changing one's style once it is formed.

"I find Garner as important technically as Horowitz or Chopin perhaps was," continued Moore. "The fact is that Chopin had a fixed technique when he was 26 years old and the same is true of Garner. Very early on he had this extraordinary mobility on the piano."
Errol Garner
♫♫♫ motif XS6, RD700GX

• Replies 109
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Exactly! That's the spirit!

I propose a book burning - just theory and scale books. There's nothing like a good book burning to bring people together in a common cause.

(It will take some time for those extra jobs to show up, but this is the best way to achieve our goals. Next meeting, my place - Thursday evenings at 7 to discuss more strategies.)

No guitarists were harmed during the making of this message.

In general, harmonic complexity is inversely proportional to the ratio between chording and non-chording instruments.

Originally posted by Dave Horne:

I propose a book burning - just theory and scale books. There's nothing like a good book burning to bring people together in a common cause.