Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

What Is A Decent Home Studio Keyboard

JayBurger

Hi all...

I'm a guitarist by trade (just thought i'd get that out the way), but am looking for a good keyboard to goo in my home studio.

I had a yamaha YDP 121 digital piano and loved the feel of the keys... but for some reason I sold it (think it was to fund a gibson les paul)..

Any way.. I have just bought a second hand Roland E-70.. which has some great sounds.. but I can't stand the plastic keys.. So its on ebay.. and I am looking for a good keyboard Mainly piano and strings) for a studio set up..

I have just played on a Roland RD300sx and that is fave at the moment... Has weighted hammer action, and some great sounds...

Can anyone reccomend a good studio keyboard that meets my requirements? 1. full size 88 weighted / hammer keys, 2. midi/usb for future sound mod connection. 3. Great sounds.

Any Advice or opinions welcome

Cheers

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Originally posted by JayBurger:

I'm a guitarist by trade (just thought i'd get that out the way)

I think you sunk yourself right there. ;)

(Doesn't bother me, but you don't want to get the 'anti-guitarist' contingent going!)

Originally posted by JayBurger:

Can anyone reccomend a good studio keyboard that meets my requirements? 1. full size 88 weighted / hammer keys, 2. midi/usb for future sound mod connection. 3. Great sounds.

Budget? What kind of sounds do you need?

Budget is around £1000 give or take a bit... The roland I loked at retails for £750.

I mainly want some good string sounds... and a nice Grand Piano sound. I know the YDP 121 is a cheap piano.. but the grand sounded really well on that, and the keys felt really good...

Also I want to have it so I can use rack mounted sound modules at a later date. so it needs to be usb / midi.