Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Keyboard that fits this profile?

Hi, I'm going to buy a keyboard soon but would appreciate peoples advice on what keyboard(s) fit the description of what I would like to be capable of doing. Right now I'm very green with regards to the most technical aspects, but would really like to have an instrument to use while I'm still learning about them, without having to look back in retrospect and realize I made the wrong choice.

Price: $400-$650

Home use only.

Computer connectivity (usb)

Use; primarily for creating my own music, practicing theory.

Mostly just want the capability to;

Have as many sound options as possible; I remember having some small $25 radioshack keyboard when I was young that had something like 80 sound sets from organs to drums to fun/unique lasers etc ..therfore I would assume that mid-range keyboard's lately would at least have hundreds of variations. The capability of creating/finding new ones online through a usb interface, would be great if such a thing exists.

This is likely (if best) done through 3rd party software, unsure; but connected to the computer, being able to record/overlay tracks/effects I create from the keyboard.

These things are somewhat insignificant; but financial reasons, don't need things like; huge LCD's, stand, amazing speakers (will use headphones, or my own), things like keylighting, direct internet connectivity (prefer to update through usb). Also, given my current location (Japan) a Japanese brand (yamaha..) would prob be preferred.

Basically; mid-range, lots of sound options (updatable prefered, not needed) that can connect to my computer. Without price increasing/ un-needed extra's, or super live-type durability & prof-studio type quality.