Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Logic audio instruments get stuck?

Superbobus

Boy, the Emagic EV stuff is big fun! Too bad they act a little too vintage. Some of the notes I'm playing get stuck... E.g. an F keeps on sustaining, also when I hit it again. It's especially annoying with the EVB3 Is it because of the demo status I'm still in or is it my FW410 or MIDI?

The problem occurs with the CS6x connected to the FW410, not with my Evolution USB MIDI controller, but two octaves is not that great to play in.

http://www.bobwijnen.nl

Hipness is not a state of mind, it's a fact of life.

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I use the Firewire 410 with Logic Audio 6.3.3 on a dual 1.2 ghz G4, and have quirky things happen: the Mac fails to recognize the interface after working for several hours (I compose for a living, and work many days for 14 hours), the program crashes, midi stops working reliably, etc. I think it is related to the fact that I have other firewire devices on the same machine, and the FW410 doesn't like that. M-Audio has been excellent in emailing me with suggestions, but recently the workload was so heavy I had to stop trying all their test suggestions and get to work! The thing I found to work the best was to run the installer for the latest driver, do the uninstall, and reinstall the driver. That fixed the midi problems (although sometimes it wipes out my Audio-Midi Setup), and corrects the audio as well. I put my other firewire drives on the FW800 port with a FW400 to 800 adaptor cable, and that allows all the drives to show up on startup without having to turn them on in a specific order. But, alas, the driver corrupts and I have to reinstall. The unit sounds beautiful, and I'm sure they will come up with a stable driver.

Bob, do you use an external digital clock? I use the Emu e6400's clock as the master quite frequently. The driver seems to last longer when I go with Logic's internal clock.