Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Problem with Kurzweil PC2X keyboard action

sweibel

Maybe George H. from Geosync could offer his opinion?

I've had a PC2X for a few months now and it's an awesome synth. For the last 2-3 weeks it seems that I've noticed a slight increase in resistance on the A4 key, meaning that it feels slightly different when pressing A4 than all other 87 keys. The A4 also has a different "thud" sound when keying up. It's a really slight problem but it's enough to throw me off when trying to play chords at medium velocity as usually I'll have trouble pressing all notes at the same time (A4 will sound a little late). All keys including A4 function correctly (trigger sound okay) so I think it's just a mechanical question. What's strange is that this has only started to bother me for about 2 weeks. Also I am letting my girlfriend use the PC2X to practise and she's a complete beginner so I hope she isn't misusing the keyboard. Question: is there anything short of opening up the unit that I could do to maybe even out the A4 action? With increased wear on the keyboard action do you think this will eventually smooth out the resistance of A4? Thanks for any suggestions!

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Originally posted by dikrek:

Still, if it's this new it's covered by the warranty, so I'd take it in if I were you.

I agree fully.

It's Kurzweil's responsibility to make sure that your instrument functions perfectly at this point - you should definitely take them up on it.

dB

:snax:

:keys:==> David Bryce Music • Funky Young Monks <==:rawk:

I've broken many individual keys over the years. Sometimes when only a key is partially cracked or broken, it may respond like you describe. Often times a partially broken key can be temporarily mended by epoxy. The Fatar keybed shouldn't be difficult to locate replacement parts...... :)
Surreal :cool:

This one's for D.