Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

A silly question about GigaStudio

schmoron13

So I wanna use GigaStudio (havn't decided which one yet) for film scoring, and some commercial work, and maybe even use samples from online sources, such as wizoosounds, etc...

my question is: do these samplers play pre-recorded phrases, or can I input the notes?...if yes, are they solely midi or can I record them as audio (maybe bounce the tracks in Sonar 2xl as an audio track..

I have a degree in theory and composition but only got into the technical realm fairly recently and never really got this portion of the industry...do softsamplers like Giga work like a module (triton rack for example) or are they sampled phrases that I paste together in Acid, etc....

Any help would be greatly appreciated...

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply
It's a sampler, so it depends what samples you load. You can load a 1GB piano sample and play it like a piano from a MIDI controller. Or you can buy a library of orchestral sweeps and phrases and incorporate those into your composition. I'm not sure if you can capture the output as an audio file within Gigastudio, but it shouldn't be hard to do with other software running on the computer. Think of it as a really big soft-synth.

Most of the time, when you're talking about string and orchestral libraries for Giga (or any sampler) your dealing with individual note samples of orchestral instruments/ensembles which you then play to create your music.

There are a few libraries of pre-recorded orchestral segments (loops) which you can use in your music and manipulate to your liking. The ones I'm familiar with are Orchestral Colors and Scoring Tools available at soundsonline and ACID Orchestral Loops .

Creating convincing orchestral music using individual note samples is challenging. Using loops sounds more authentic, but is very limiting.

Busch.

I just realized another concern....