Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Learning on Your Own

Cezar20

Hello just wanting info from such knowledgeable sources.

I am trying to teach my self keys. My main goal is to accompany my vocals in a live situation. Style I guess is fairly versatile with an inclination towards Rnb/Pop. I do wish to solo etc somewhat.

I have difficulty finding motivation to persevere with lessons and time constraints etc.

I have been using resource books to teach myself, chord theory, sight reading, rhytm etc. I have plenty of virtuoso buddies who regularly assess my technique. If I am diligent is it possible to attain a high standard of playing without lessons? ANy self taught players out there, who are quite confident in their abilities??

Another question. I would like to greatly improve my rythm for the purpose of my keys playing and also because my gf is a drummer and dancer and well, I gotta keep up! Id love to be able to play keyboard drums the way she does. What exercises can anyone suggest to better my rythm. WIll drum method books assist my keyboard drumming? Anyone know of free resource available on the net? And the same question but for ear training. ANy exercises/resources??

Many thanks guys.

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I taught myself to play keyboards for about five years when I was young. Then I took lessons in college. It made me realize I should have been taking lessons all along. Yes, you can get pretty good by watching videos and listening to records of good playing but having a Master giving you quick feedback is invaluable. They'll have that "life wisdom" that books just can't give you. I had a couple of the rigid, stereotypical piano teachers but you can shop around and find a teacher who will teach you what you want to know and will give you tips to save physical effort in achieving where you want to go.