Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

new keyboardist

coren

hello, im just starting in this field although ive been playing bass and guitar for 7 years. so while i can grasp it musically, the wealth of technology has reared it evil head :)

im VERY confused as to what i want, because im not absolutly sure i know what i need.

im into doing things like nine inch nails, radiohead, and tea party (off of transmission)

so id like to have sounds from a rich piano to a synth to sounds i create myself (which i do alot)etc etc

so i guess i need something that has sounds that are good but can get new sounds,

i also need something that can control midi programs etc

synth, sampler, sequencer, keyboard.... ???

what do they all do??

i dont even know where to begin..

ANYTHING will be very helpful,

even a point in the direction of a clear website with basic info....

anyways

thanks alot

-mike

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

First, play every keyboard you can find and think about what you like and don't like about each one. Things to notice....

Synth action or hammer action keyboard?

Wheels or joy stick for pitch bend and modulation?

Are 61 keys enough or do you feel restricted?

Do you want something that excells in natural sounds or electronic?

Sample playback or analog modeling?

Do you really need a workstation for sequencing, or would you just use it for midi file play back?

Do you need knobs for filter control and other parameters or will you just be touching the keys?

Do you want something with ROM expansion capabilities?

When programming do you need lots of knobs, a big data screen, or are you comfortable with going through levels of menu's with little feedback?

Do you need digital outs or multiple outs?

Do you really need sampeling?

Is there a GOOD keyboard rep in my area, and who is good at working on which keyboards in case I have a failure?

How much money do I want to spend?