Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Can the Virus do this?

DailyGrind

I've really grown to like the price/performance ratio of the Virus kb and plan on purchasing it as my only synth action keyboard/controller. I really like the demos I've downloaded off the web as well, but I haven't heard anything that I would classify as classic Kitaro-like analog. I'm a newbie when it comes to synthesis so the best way I can illustrate what I'm looking for is an mp3 off the Clavia website:

http://www.clavia.se/nordlead3/files/MP3/Analogue%20part%20one.mp3

Is the Virus capable of getting these softer analog type sounds (especially the lead sounds in that mp3) or is it geared primarily towards the harder edged techno/electronic type sounds? I've pretty much decided on purchasing the Virus either way but I want to know if I'm going to need to purchase something like a nord micro-modular to add the sound I'm looking for to my pallette (one of my friends want to sell me his) or if the Virus is capable of producing this sound even though none of the demos I've heard illustrate it...

Thanks!

Peter

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Yes, the Virus can create those soft sounds...in fact, I think my Virus b can achieve a tone as smooth as my Nord Modular. The Virus can also rip in a very musical fashion, so the demos like to show that off.

Having said that, I think everyone should own at least a Nord MicroMod! http://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

The timbres are just too cool, and it makes a great effects box as well.

Go tell someone you love that you love them.

Aeon,

Thanks for the confirmation, that definitely makes me feel better about my decision to purchase the Virus. I would definitely like to have a virtual modular synth as well so right now trying to decide between picking up a used nord modular, micro-modular or a creamware pulsar system since it has a modular as well as wavetable, vector and several VA synths.