Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Cakewalk HELP!!!

Goldberg

I am using Cakewalk Home Studio 8.0 with my 1080 for sequencing. But, everytime I do a song on Cakewalk with the JV-1080's patches, by setting up a [Preform] set up (assigning different patches to different channels, whatever you call that), cakewalk will refuse to re-open the song after exiting out or whatever. The message appears: Failed to open document. I know it's a problem with the 1080 patches mainly because I can write songs using the GM patches, and can actually reopen them after closing Cakewalk (what a concept...). Does anyone here have a similar set up and experienced these problems? Any help would be great.
"Bach is ever new"-Glenn Gould

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Wow. Though I'm no expert on all the bad things that can happen on a DAW, I'm an experienced Cakewalk user and I'm having a difficult time understanding how any synth or module hanging on a couple midi cables could prevent Cakewalk from opening a file. If you are using a Cakewalk .ins (instrument definition) to select and remember the 1010's patches from within cakewalk, try disassociating all your file's tracks from the 1010. Click on "define instruments" or something like and set all midi channel instrument definitions to default. That way, I can't see how Cakewalk would be "querying" the Roland in any way when it opens the file in question. The file should still play back correctly because you've saved the multimbral performance on the Roland and all the midi channels should still be right.

I know I'm not being clear. Please tell me of you are using an .ins instrument definition. If not, I can hardly imagine what's going on.

John

Check out the Sweet Clementines CD at bandcamp