Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

My first sound studio..where do I begin?

Lia12672

Hello,

I have been composing music for the piano for personal pleasure since I was about 10 years old and am now looking towards building a music studio as a hobby first. I'm new to the whole "technology" thing and don't want to rush into buying equipment that isn't conducive to my style of writing. I'm influenced by classical music, primarily works from the Romantic and Impressionist period. I also enjoy Jazz and various Film scores. (ie works by Michael Nyman--"The Piano")

I'm interested in orchestration, piano composition and exploring new ambient sounds and colour to embellish my piano and orchestral works.

Does anyone have any suggestions on which keyboard and sound modules would be best to invest in?

In terms of sound modules, I've been looking at the Korg Triton and the Prodius 2000 (huge price difference!) Would the Korg Triton be a better way to go or would the Prodius be sufficient?

In terms of Keyboards...I was looking at the Roland XV5080 and the Roland XV-88. Are either of these keyboards a good choice? Any other suggestions?

Like I say, I'm completely new to this technological world but am very eager to dive into it.

Lia

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well, since you're a beginner I would recommend trying to understand some concepts first. I'm not sure how much you know, so I'll assume your background in only in theory and playing and not in the equipment.

You should understand what is involved in recording your music. Understand the difference between audio and midi, and how each allows different 'compositional flexibilities' and results.

Keep in mind what you will want to use to record your music. Whether it's a stand alone recorder (hard disk based or tape) or through a computer. There's probably tons of articles explaining it better than I can in a few lines.