Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Fatar SL161 as a first keyboard?

mashin

Hi everyone,

I am in the process of setting up my first little home studio -- on a tight budget http://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/smile.gifhttp://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/smile.gif I am now looking for a keyboard; I will use it only to record my music on a PC. Someone suggested getting a Fatar SL161 and a SoundBlaster Live! sound card. This solution fits my budget allright (about $400), but I want to get a second opinion. With this setup, will I be able to record my music (styles: adult contemporary, pop, instrumental like in movies, childrens, celtic)? I play piano, and the way the keys feel is important to me. However, I am very new at recording, and would like it to be as easy as possible. My other concern is that, since SL161 is a controller, I may end up buying extra sound modules, computer programs etc (??), and will end up spending more in the end.

I will appreciate any comments you may have.

thank you,

Mashin

• Replies 2
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well...... if you go the controller route (like the SL-161) you will either have to use the midi sounds on the computer (which tend to sound like nothing more than enhanced blips and bloops to me) or some software program with a better GM sound set (sorry... I don't really know of any off hand, but I know they exist.... CakeWalk may have a GM sound set included with it) or a sound module.