Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

I KNOW one of you guys knows the answer to this...

DeepD

Silly question, considering I've been playing music since 1981...

What keyboards did Nick Rhoads use on the songs "Hungry Like The Wolf" and "Rio"? Please don't bash me...I've only been playing keyboards for four years. I'm in an 80's cover band, which is surprisingly (or some may say, disturbingly) popular here in Illinois/Iowa area (please no Illinois jokes...have at Iowa all you want).

Anybody know? I'm using a Yamaha CS2x, EX5r, Korg N364 and a newly-acquired Roland JX-10...up to this point I've done the arpeggiated lines of the above songs with the CS...but I just won't be satisfied until I know which board Nick used...

Thanks in advance...

Deep D

------------------

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply
I believe that he used The Fairlight, Crumar String Machine, Jupiter 8. It's been awhile since I read the article I'm quoting this from, and getting old sucks, so I may be wrong.
Setup: Korg Kronos 61, Roland XV-88, Korg Triton-Rack, Motif-Rack, Korg N1r, Alesis QSR, Roland M-GS64 Yamaha KX-88, KX76, Roland Super-JX, E-Mu Longboard 61, Kawai K1II, Kawai K4.

His main axe for live was the Jupiter 8. All the arpeggiator stuff was the jupee I think.

I think I remember him using a Juno 106 live as well.

Speaking of duran duran.. how did he do the synth part in 'save a prayer'.. was that a step sequencer in one of the synths?

Last time I saw duran duran live (VH1 story teller) he still had the jupiter, a triton, and 3rd synth I can't remember.

Rod

Originally posted by joegerardi:

I believe that he used The Fairlight, Crumar String Machine, Jupiter 8. It's been awhile since I read the article I'm quoting this from, and getting old sucks, so I may be wrong.

Yes, Joe is right. Nick used to play those expensive toys in "The Reflex" and "New moon on Monday" songs... I guees he also used them for the songs you mention.