Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

starting tips for a new band?

mte

Hello,

I know, this is off-topic, but probably some of you have some experience about this?

Me and some of my friends started a rock band. I've had 10 years of piano playing experience (and i'm not so bad at it), so I quite understand music. (BTW Sorry for my terrible English...) But the problem is because I don't know how to start with all the stuff (i've never played in a band before), how to start writing arrangements, how to write music for other instruments as well (bass, guitar, drums). I'm sure if I would get some initial advices or examples I could do it on my own next time...

Does anyone know for a web site to help me or if you could help me right here...?

Thank you so much,

Matej

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

First off, if you hadn't told me in your post you weren't a native English speaker, I wouldn't have known. Your English is a hell of a lot better than my Slavic, and a good deal better than many native English speakers'.

Now, starting a rock band...broad category. Keep goals in mind. What sort of rock? Who are your heroes? I'm assuming that you would like to emulate the rockers you look up to. Fine to a point, but don't lose sight of originality.