Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

help with vocal effects....

industriac

Im a beginner in making and recording electronic music, but Im slowly learning the ropes.

So now, I am done with a few songs and Im going to record them and I have decided that i want to add some effects to my voice. Since I am strapped for cash, I was thinking of hooking up my mic to my keyboard, a KORG N364, and use the onboard effects. But, my question is how would I hook everything up to use the onboard effects on my mic.

If not, can anyone suggest a decent effects unit for $150 or less. I want to get a somewhat gritty sound to my voice but I still want to be understandable.

Thanks

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I glossed over this post thinking I didn't know the answer, but lo and behold I do: As far as I know, the N364 does not have an input for incoming audio to be processed through the effects. I think the Triton is the only Korg board that does that. If it were a Yamaha it'd be another story, but you're not likely to buy another keyboard. As far as vocal-oriented effects processors the only ones I can think of are the Digitech harmony processors, or the Boss Voice Transformator and I doubt either is what you want.

There are many small effect processors in the $200-$500 range, with the Lexicon MPX100 (MPX1? I can't remember) or Digitech Studio 100 on the low end and the Lexicon MPX 500 and Boss VF-1 on the upper end. The Boss/Roland module is a really good buy since it includes mic and guitar modeling effects from Roland's V-Studio recorders, but it looks a bit out of your price range.

The SU100 is a good buy, can be had for as low as $180 and even has a vocoder in it! Another Under $200 processor is made by Zoom but I can't remember its name. Otherwise you'll have to go to the used market for anything cheaper. You could use these same models as starting points for the used market.