Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Help... Im a beginner

Dr Teeth

I have been playing piano for about 8 years. I am new in all this of music tecnology. Now I want to start my own studio and I need a keyboard whit sequencer, but I also need a stage piano to play in a church. I was thinking in buying a Sp88x(kurzweil) to use it as a controller and a alesis QSR, but i have found an incredible price for a K2500R at www.musiciansfriend.com. In the topic K2500R Vrs. Triton i read that the triton has many more waveform memory... But i have no idea what it is??!!!... could you help me?. Also please give me any tips for a beginner like me... I have pratically nothing of synthetizer and all that words and concepts... Is there any web page that has all this basic information?. Also I want to know if it is posible to conect some of that yamaha drum pads to a key board and play the brum patterns there... Thank you so much... and God bless you all
Rebuilding My Self

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Some questions:

Have you played these instruments?

If so, which appealed to your ears and hands the most?

What is your budget?

I'm inclined to think that a K2500 may not be the ideal instrument to start out with - it is one of the most powerful synthesizers ever made, and may not be the best way that you can spend your $$$.

Consider getting two separate keyboards - one for home, and one for church. You may want to consider the Alesis DG8 for the church application - it has three totally different stereo piano samples onboard, it's ridiculously easy to work so it'd be good for a beginner, it has an unbelievable onboard sound system, and you can expand it with their Sanctuary expansion card which has many great sounds for worship applications.