Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Kurzweil 2500 upgrade tech info

Bubbajazz

Help - to any Kurzweilers out there.

I recently bought a K2500XS, and find that I need to invest in the upgrades - P-RAM, RAM, possibly KDFX, ROMs and hard drive. Sounds expensive, no?

I'd like to put as much as possible in the instrument, and need to DIY as much as possible. I am interested in 2 things - first any sources for tech info on how-to - second, anyone's own experiences, both positive and negative, in attempting this myself.

BTW, kudos to the editors/writers and contributors. I am a newbie, and have found these forums to be terrific sources of info.

------------------

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi, Brian...

Well, I don't know your level of proficiency when it comes to opening up a piece of hi-tech equipment, but I think that you may want to pay a professional to do these upgrades for you. You've spent a bunch on your Kurz - isn't it worth the investment to make sure that someone who really knows their way around it is the one who's poking around under the hood?

Some of the upgrades that you mentioned are definitely not for the faint of heart; plus, unless I am entirely mistaken, you will void any warranties on the Kurz and any of the components if you attempt to install them yourself.

dB

:snax:

:keys:==> David Bryce Music • Funky Young Monks <==:rawk:

Thanks for responding, David. I agree about being a bit faint of heart, especially as it involves a soldering iron, but...

I have to think that installing RAM, or perhaps a hard drive, is no big deal, if you know where to start. I expect that P-RAM is not something to undertake myself.

I also would be willing to pay for this to be done, but so far have found that techs and music stores are charging exorbitantly for relatively minor work. Open the box, plug in the part, make sure it seats correctly, close the box and charge $100.