Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

HD recording on "remote" computer?

Okay folks, there are lots of great idea people on here, so here's a little dilemma I'm having:

I make my living as a software developer and I work at home. I have my home office in a spare bedroom, equipped with a pretty hotdog computer. This machine would be perfectly capable of doing hard disk recording - problem is, my studio is in the basement, and frankly, I consider the studio like my haven from computers. http://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/smile.gif I do not want to get another computer just for the studio, nor do I want to bring this one down there. All the same, it would be nice to do HD recording or editing occasionally.

I did put a drop ceiling in the studio, so fortunately it is not all that difficult for me to run cables down there from up here, and it occurs to me that I could put a small monitor, keyboard and mouse down there and run long cables to the computer. That would both solve my problem and eliminate computer fan noise in the studio. Has anyone done this? And what cables might I need going to my sound card in order to not compromise sound quality over the distance? I haven't measured the exact distance it would need to go, but I imagine we could be talking as much as 50 feet of cable.

Any ideas/feedback would be appreciated.

--Lee

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I will be blunt.

What you are thinking about doing amounts to pissing against the wind.

"...I consider the studio like my haven from computers..."

But then.

"...I could put a small monitor, keyboard and mouse down there and run long cables to the computer..."

If the studio is to remain a haven from computers then just GO ANALOG.

But if you are going to bring a small monitor, keyboard and mouse, then why not the CPU too?