Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Hearing Protection

Hello,

As a musician I am subjected to loud music for long periods of time...

But as an engineer I am extremely concerned about damaging me ears.

My problem is that when I use earplugs at a show, I am not hearing the tone and dynamics that I feel I need to hear for me to play and sing my best.

I have the perscription musicians earplugs, and even with just a 9db reduction filter, I still don't like it.

Any suggestions, words of advice, or doctors orders???

Kris

My Band: http://www.fullblackout.com UPDATED!!! Fairly regularly these days...

http://www.logcabinmusic.com updated 11/9/04

• Replies 2
  • Created
  • Last Reply

At least you know what you are not hearing. As hearing loss continues, you don't know what you are missing, because you are slowly toasting your ears and you slowly lose the ability hear certain frequencies with clarity. Not worth it, IMO because you never get it back.

I have been gigging on a regular basis for the past five years. This past Monday, I finally went to an ENT (ear nose & throat) doctor. Littered with guilt, I was prepared to come to the terms that I have already suffered hearing loss. I have developed tinitus that reminds me of this fact on a 24X7 basis. The tinitus screams at me after every gig. Well the results of my hearing test were very surprising. My test came back in the normal range for adults, and this was on a Monday after a weekend of ear abuse. I consider myself lucky and foolish at the same time.

Tomorrow I go back to get the molds made for my custom plugs. They are $130, but I think of what I have spent on gear, and the price is a drop in the bucket, and I can't buy another set of ears.