Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Greetings! Help me buy a drumset.

Powerboss

Hi there.

OK. I'm a musician hobbiest, play guitar and keys, and have played a little bit of drums.

Im doing some home recording and that will be my primary use.

I've always wanted a drum set and finally, after wanting one for most of my life, I've decided to do it.

I've pretty much decided that I'm going with electronic drums because that will be a lot less hastle and easier to record with, plus the bonus of more sounds.

Anyways, Im probably figuring I can spend around $2500.00 bucks for a set.

What do you guys reccomend?

What are the brands to go with and which ones to stay away from?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

With that kind of a budget, you can buy just about any high quality drumkit you want.

Try searching through the archives on recommendations; this topic has been discussed at length in the past. There's too many brands and models to narrow it down for you; you'll have to do that.

You question could have easily been ...

"I've got $25,000 to spend, and I need a new car. It's primary use will be to get from home to work and back again. What do you suggest?"

Do you see how vast and open-ended that question is?

Perhaps someone else can answer your question, but I sure couldn't. Almost every large drum manufacture has nice instruments, especially the upper-end kits. And any one of those would work fine for your home recording purposes.

Drummer Cafe - community drum & percussion forum

standard roland v-drums are fine. i think you should relook buying a normal set though, you can't do as much/don't have as much control as you would with the real thing. basically IMO yu are spending extra dough to get a product which limits your functions.

i.e., you can't get the sound of brushes on a cymbal or snare, can't get rim shots

just my opinion. good luck!!!