Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

sell or keep my Larry Londin ride?

reachjkh

I have a limited edition Larry Londin ride that a friend gave to me when I got my set. I really hate the sound so far(except the bell). No ping anywhere but right on the bell. All wash every where else, a huge gong-like crash, and not quite enough tone IMO considering this is a signature item. I really do like ping, and don't anticipate playing too many jazz gigs in the future, which is all I can see this thing being good for.

My experience says never sell anything nice, but I just really don't dig the thing. I'm not a very experienced drummer, but I've been a musician for goin on 25 years and know what sounds good to me.

Should I sell it and buy something else? Keep it and see if it grows on me over time? If I do sell, what might I ask for it? It's one of 800 made if my info is correct.

I don't have much of a music budget at the moment, but I do have almost everything I need for all the instruments I play. This isn't a huge thing to me, but I would like some opinions on this. (BTW I did notice the description of Wuhan rides in another post about them being almost all ping...hmmm. Buy one of those and keep the L.L. for the moment? AAGH! I'm such a geek musician!)

thanks,

Jeff

Hey you white boy there

Go play that funky music

"ok...what's it pay?"

first smoke, then silence

your very expensive rig

dies so gracefully

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hey, Reach!

If you do want to sell the LL ride, let me know.

I am a huge fan and did not get one of those cymbals.

Is that cymbal very soiled? Is it clean? If you do not like the sound, I suggest that you get something that you like for sure. I am not sure you should be playing the LL ride anyway, considering the limited number made.

Just my opinion.,

DJ

I own one of the cymbals ... and I love it!