Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

2 beginner's questions (fills; practicing with metronome)

dmt

2 beginner's questions:

a) Do you have any tips for getting into and out of tom fills on time (such a maybe ending on a crash on the 4& beat or whatever)

I guess any tips at all on tom fills could help

b) Do you have any tips for practicing against a metrone (such as do you always keep the accented metronome strike on the one, or having the metronome play twice as fast as the actual beat so that it counts out the "&"s and adds a back beat, etc.)

Thank you,

-David

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm no expert, but here's my advice:

1) Listen to the other guys playing in your band and when you go for the big tom drum solo keep on hitting until they get back around to the one again. Then resume playing your normally scheduled rythym. :D

2) I would set the accent on the one. Those little Quiktime metronomes only have a one pitch click, so I use them on the beat, or four times in a measure if your in 4/4.

I don't know, I just play. :)

BlueStrat

a.k.a. "El Guapo" ;)

...Better fuzz through science...

http://geocities.com/teleman28056/index.html

DMT:

Remember this ... as it has always helped me ... LESS IS MORE! when it comes to fills.

There is really no real rule of thumb here. Most beginners will play a fill right through one full measure, but that is not totally necessary. Remember that emptiness (rests) are as important as notes.

Play what feels natural when it comes to fills. (not necessarily what is mechanically correct!)

Hope this makes sense.

DJ

Kind of a difficult question to answer, really. It's more of a 'feel' thing than anything else.