Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Hip Hop Drummers Help!

Vincepro

I'm a hiphop producer programming my drums on a MPC drum machine. My question has to do with the placement of the kick and the snare in rap songs. I understand sometimes you want to delay the kick and delay the snare to the last possible second to have a laid back swing feel. Also, sometimes you want to play the snare as early as possible to make the beat sound like it's pushing forward. Is there ever a time you want to play the kick as early as possible or no? How about play the kick as late as possible and the snare as early as possible?

Also, should the spacing between the snare hit always be the same or are there times where you play the snare hit as early as possible in one measure and then as late as possible in the next etc.? ANy other advice on drum programming for hiphop would be appreciated..

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

i think you're talking about pocket effects directly, in which case your bass voice is going to play a huge part in the process as it's relation to both the snare and kick are going to be paramount in pulling off the feel issues you raise.

generally you have the right idea in terms of the concept at play, but again, the space in between your bass and kick are more often going to pull this off than, just a good drum note placement in itself.

the last minute suck that you so often hear in ensembles with a great pocket going is exactly this, the space in between the basses full tone interacting with the laid back or up front kick all dressed around the feel mechanic, eg a funk tripolet.

indeed, a good bass player can change the feel of the drum track completely by changing up their own feel in relation to the drums - or by making a dirty drummer sound clean by constantly adjusting.

my 2cents anyway, hope something there makes sense.

:wave:

--_ ______________ _