Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Recording drums with 4-tracks, computers etc.

alexclaber

Hi everyone,

I'm actually a bassist myself (though I do enjoy playing the drums very much and one day *will* play drums in a band!) but I'm trying to work out how to record my band and the drums are the biggest challenge.

In terms of mics I have an AKG D112, an SM58 (I used to have an SM57 and will probably buy another), two AKG C1000 and a JM47 (very like a Neumann U87). I also have a TFPRO-P3 (clean solidstate pre with opto-compressor and EQ), a Tascam double-speed cassette 4-track (424 Mk2) and a computer running Cubase with a 2in 2out 24/96 soundcard.

The problem is that with the 4-track I can record 4 tracks at once whilst with the computer I can only do 2 tracks simultaneously which means the mix has to be perfect. I'm planning on tracking the drums live with the whole band playing and then overdubbing all the other instruments.

The kit is just a straight-forward 5-piece with two crashes, hi-hat and ride. Soundwise, I'd like to get something between the clean tight punchiness of Chad Smith on Blood Sugar Sex Magik and the more raw sound you hear on John Bonham (particularly LZ1&2) and Ziggy Modeliste's recordings.

How would you recommend achieving this?

Cheers,

Alex

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Alex:

You are pretty limited with what you can do due to the limit of two channels, but on the good side, you seem to be looking for a raw and open sound. I would suggest trying a large room or tiled room with two overhead mics.

If you cannot get enough bass drum and snare drums, try running a split signal (basically giving you four channels) one each for the overheads, and another for the snare and bass ... or one for one overhead and the snare and another for the bass drum and another overhead.