Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Talk to me about Premier drums

saucyjack

A band who I am finishing up an album for owes me about $800.The drummer is looking for a new kit and is selling his Premier signe(?)kit and is interested in a swap to pay off studio bill. I've recorded the drums once and they seem to record well but being a guitarist I don't know much about drums.

The kit consists of kick,snare,and 3 toms with hardware,all maple shell I believe...no cymbals.He says this is a top of the line kit.

Seems like a pretty good deal

What's the lowdown on Premier kits?

What's the resale value on these?

Smell the Magic

www.Katp.com

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Premier has been one of the more stable companies, IMHO, where quality and consistency are concerned. I have a Premier snare drum from my days in a bagpipe band (1977), and it's still solid, good-looking, and functional after all that beating. They also have a trademark sound, in my opinion.

Now, as far as current Premier offerings, I can't speak to that, but I'd look at the condition of the kit, the condition of the hardware; I'd also research which model of Premier drums they are in order to verify the drummers' claims of "top of the line".

All that said, if you're not a drummer, I'd press for the cash. The electric company doesn't take drums in payment for your bill. It seems to me that him giving you the set in lieu of payment does two things: 1) sets you up with the rep of being someone who can be 'bartered with' usually to your loss, and 2) saddles you with the responsibility of turning the drums into cash, something he doesn't seem to be that motivated to do, or else he would've done it already.

I caution against taking on someone else's responsibility in order to cover your own responsibilities.

I've upped my standards; now, up yours.

Well, I have always liked Premier drums.