Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

New to forum and drumming

Blue Strat

Hi,

I'm new to drumming and just bought a Ludwig Rocker Elite set a few months ago. I really like it, it came with cymbals, Paiste 502's. Are these good cymbals?

The hi-hats don't sit with the edges flat together, but with my foot on the pedal they're OK. Is that normal, or not? The crash sounds great!

I'm into rock, like Clutch and Soundgarden. I really love the sound of the drums on "Super Unknown" How can I get my toms and snare to sound like that?

Thanks,

:wave:

BlueStrat

a.k.a. "El Guapo" ;)

...Better fuzz through science...

http://geocities.com/teleman28056/index.html

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi bluestrat, welcome to the forum great to have you aboard.

I'm not familiar with the set that you have. I have a 7 piece Pearl Export set myself. I use Sabian's for the hats, Zildjians for the rides and Chinas, and Paiste and Wuhan's for the crashes.

The Hi-hat cymbals should meet each other all around. My do. It is not normal. But 502 cymbals are a Bronze type and are a thinner and a cheaper type of cymbal. They just don't lay flat. But most drum shops that sell drum sets usually give you the cheaper stuff with the set so at least you can practice, and have fun with the set.

Ludwig has been around a real long time. Many years ago I had a Lidwig snare, best one I ever owned, sounded great. Cost $250 in the 60's. I sold my first drum set when I got married(Dang!).

Some of the other folks here will chime in and give you some additional information and advice. Ask away, we all like helping each other out.

Have fun with the new set and "Stick" around here for a while. Great group of people. I wouldn't worry about the hats. Give them a good work-out. There will be a day when you will be shopping again, like most of us, and get additional gear. WOW! Did I say that! :D

Peace, my friend.........

My fade-out.........

Jazzman :cool: