Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Self taught? Or Schooled? Which is better.

iccutitapnhoj

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Neither is "better" ---do both!

Get a good technical background & learn what you won't on your own, by studying with others. Teach yourself what others don't offer, or overlook, through your own explorations.

Never presume anyone (even yourself) knows it all.

:thu:

Depends on your personality. Some people do better working on their own, others need someone else's input more.

If you do teach yourself, it's still better not to isolate yourself. Try to hang out with other players of your instrument who are good, and learn stuff from them.

I have a tremendous amount of music schooling- but only some limited private lessons directly concerning the several instruments I play, with the exception of trumpet.

I wanted my own voice, but I also wanted to see what went down at the private lessons. And an overall knowledge of music in it's many guises improves musicianship if not chops.

Nonetheless I did not do a performance major in part because I wanted guitar, bass, drums, and singing to be MY thing, my way. (Cue Sinatra)

It's good to get ahold of the materials you'd get schooled with on an instrument, and then just mess around with them on your own.

Whether you school it or not, you have to provide the initiative to get big gains. It's easy to hide from yourself when learning on your own, and practice familiar comfortable things- I've done too much of that. The things that need practice most are the most aggravating things to try to do...

A WOP BOP A LU BOP, A LOP BAM BOOM!

"There is nothing I regret so much as my good behavior. What demon possessed me that I behaved so well?" -Henry David Thoreau