Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

DRUMM SHELLS!!!!!!! and something else!!!!!!!

jscoin

can somebody please explain the difference in drum plies please.......

i have a beginner set

and i am just wondering, should i (i have been playing for 2 years and i am in 2 bands now, and i am starting to have more gigs)???

a. by a mid-pro set (not a begginer and not a pro set)

b. save up for a pro set\

thanks...

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I don't know exactly what it is that you are wanting to know in regards to the plies on a drum shell. I'll keep it simple and just tell you the basics as it pertains to wood shells.

Unless you have a shell that is made from a solid piece of wood, your drum will be comprised of a number of plies (layers) of wood. The greater number of plies, the stronger the drum will be ... typically. The fewer number of plies used creates a deeper sound in the drum because the shell is able to vibrate more freely; typically. By freely I mean that the wave length of the shell vibrations are greater ... which is where the low end frequencies are. The more plies you have, the less the shell can produce low frequencies.

You also may want to take into account our recent thread; Physics of Sound. Here it has been discussed that the drumhead actually determines over 50% of the sound from a drum. Not scientific fact (yet), but a well thought out premise

Older (and many vintage) drums typically have very few plys.

You also get into different thickness of ply which also affects the sound. Having fewer plies (like 4) that are thick may not be much different than twice as many thin plies (like 8). You've got to use your eyes AND you ears to come up with what sound you like best.